Beema Samiti is also known as Insurance Board. It is an autonomous body in Nepal that has been established with the vision of developing, systemizing, regularising and regulating the insurance business of Nepal. Beema Samiti was established under the Insurance Act, 1992.

Beema Samiti has a vision of long term development of the nation’s economy through developed, systematic, regularised and regulated insurance business. The board intends to develop healthy competition and reliability in the insurance business. The board is dedicated in formulation and amendment of insurance policies. Moreover, it also works to preserve insurance rights of the public. The board aims to make insurance protected, transparent, reliable and competitive. Beema Samiti is continuously developing and promoting insurance business.

Beema Samiti circulates various updates and information through circulars, paper media as well as websites to aware the public about the trends in practice in an insurance business. The board regularly trains its workers to make sure the public get reliable and easy service.

List of insurance companies in Nepal

Here are some of the life insurance companies of Nepal that are the members of Beema Samiti and provide insurance service to the public under the governance of the board:

  1. National Life Insurance Company Limited
    P.O. Box: 4332, Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal. Tel: 977-1-4414799, 4416556, 4414803, 4435636; Fax: 977-1-4435633
  2. Nepal Life Insurance Company Limited
    Heritage Plaza-1, 2nd Floor, Kamaladi, Kathmandu
    01-4169082, 01-4169083, 01-4169085
  3. Life Insurance Corporation (Nepal) Limited
    House No-723, Bhagwati Marg Naxal Bhagawatibahal, Kathmandu
    (100 metres east from the Temple of Naxal Bhagawatibahal ),
    Nepal Po Box No: 21905, Kathmandu
    Ph No: 00977-01-4443616, 01-4443617, 01-4442761 Fax: 01-4437601
  4. American Life Insurance Company Limited
  5. Asian Life Insurance Company Limited
    Kathmandu Ma.Na.Pa Ward No 33, Maitidevi
    Phone: 977-1-4410115
    Fax: 977-1-4442138
    Post Box No 25943
  6. Gurans Life Insurance Company Limited
    Shree Raj Bhawan, Tinkune, Kathmandu, Nepal Toll-Free: 1660-01-44400 Hunting Line: 01-5199310 Fax:01-5199061
  7. Surya Life Insurance Company Limited
    Sano Gaucharan, Kathmandu, Nepal
  8. Prime Life Insurance Company Limited

    P.O.Box No: 25979,
    Hattisar Kathmandu, Nepal
    Tel: 00977-1-4441414
    Toll-Free: 16600144455

  9. Rastriya Beema Sansthan
    Rastriya Beema Sansthan, Ramshahpath, Singa Durbar, Kathmandu, Nepal
    Phone: 977-1-4262520
    Fax: 977-1-4262610

Beema Samiti Board formation

beema samiti board

Beema Samiti has a board of members handling their roles and responsibilities.

Under insurance act 1992, the formation of insurance board Nepal is as following.

  1. Chairman is nominated by Nepal Government.
  2. Member is a representative from Ministry of Law, Justice and parliamentary affairs.
  3. Member is a representative from Ministry of Finance.
  4. Member is a person who has strong knowledge in Insurance (nominated by Nepal Government).
  5. Member is a person who is nominated by Government of Nepal from people among insured.

Recent Chairman and Board Members of Beema Samiti

New chairman of Beema Samiti

  • Chiranjibi Chapagain
  • Dhanraj Gnyawali
    Joint Secretary
    Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs
  • Ganesh Prasad Pandey
    Joint Secretary
    Ministry of Finance
  • Sugat Ratna Kansakar
    General Manager
    Nepal Airlines Corporation
  • Kapil Dev Oli

The officers responsible for the function of Beema Samiti are as follows:

  • Shreeman Karki
  • Raju Raman Paudel
  • Kamal Prasad Regmi
  • Sushil Dev Subedi
    Deputy Director (Administration)
  • Kundan Sapkota
    Deputy Director (Administration)
  • Dhruba Timilsina
    Deputy Director (Administration)
  • Raj Kumar Aryal
    Deputy Director (Administration)
  • Pujan Dhungel Adhikari
    Deputy Director (Administration)
  • Dinesh Kumar Lal
    Deputy Director (Administration)
  • Shaba Raj Lamichhane
    Deputy Director (Administration)
  • Nirmal Adhikari
    Deputy Director (Administration)
  • Keshav Prasad Dahal
    Deputy Director (Administration)
  • Lok Bahadur Adhikari
    Assistant Director
  • Kusum Sharma
    Assistant Director
  • Om Bahadur Adhikari
    Assistant Director
  • Laxmi Dhakal
    Assistant Director
  • Punam Gyawali (Shrestha)
    Assistant Director
  • Pradip Gautam
    Assistant Director
  • Nisha Ghimire
    Assistant Director
  • Birodh Bhatta
    Assistant Director
  • Rajendra Maharjan
    Assistant Director
  • Manju Thapa
    Assistant Director
  • Padam Prasad Sodari
    Assistant Director
  • Dhurba Gnawali
    Assistant Director
  • Shambhu Prasad Mishra
    Assistant Director
  • Sunita Kumari Karki
    Assistant Director
  • Purna Bahadur Thapa
    Assistant Director

Beema Samiti Contact Details

Beema Samiti (Insurance Board)
Kupandol, Lalitpur
Phone: +977-1-5528618
Fax: +977-1-5520119
Toll-Free No: 1660-01-56789
Beema Sansthan Website:
Beema Sansthan Email: [email protected] and [email protected]

Rastriya Beema Samiti vacancy

Rastriya beema samiti has announced vacancy for two IT officers (assistant manager) and one Health Assistant. The IT officer will be of 6th level and he/she must have recognized degree of BE computer or BSC computer Engineering or graduation in Electronics and Communication. The candidate must be of 21 to 35 years old, while for female the maximum age limit is 40 years old. The HA level is of 5th level. He/She must have recognized qualification related to HA. (October 23, 2019)