Nepal has seen many ups and downs in its politics. After years of instability, Nepal is now a federal democratic country. It has adopted federalism since 20 September 2015. The Nepal provinces are formed according to Schedule 4 of the Constitution of Nepal.

There are seven Nepal provinces. In this article, I will list those provinces’ headquarters and brief details.

Nepal provinces of Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal

Koshi Province

As per the cabinet decision, Biratnagar is the capital of this province. It covers the major portion of the eastern development region.

Madhesh Province

Province number two is the most smallest yet second most populated province of the country. The proposed name for this province is Madhes, Mithila, Bhojpura. This province is mostly inhabited by Madhesis, Bhojpuri and other ethnic groups. It has its rich culture and lifestyle, which is a bit influenced by neighbouring country India. The majority of people speak Bhojpuri, Maithili and Nepali language in the province. Janakpur is the headquarter of this province.

Bagmati Province

Bagmati Province is one of the most developed provinces. It comprises hilly and mountainous parts. The capital of the country, Kathmandu, also lies in this province. This is also the most populated province of the country. Hetauda has been declared its capital and is one of the provinces established by the new constitution of Nepal, which was adopted on 20 September 2015. Most of the part of this province is hilly and mountainous. The capital of this country, Kathmandu, also lies in this province, and it covers around 14 % of the country’s total land area.

Gandaki Province

Gandaki Pradesh, or province number 4, is another province of the country. The country’s peak tourist destination, This Pradesh, is quite diverse in terms of culture, language and people who live here. Pokhara remains the capital of the Pradesh. The total area of this province is 21,505 square km.

Lumbini Province

Province number 5, Lumbini Province, is another province of Nepal. The cabinet declared Dang to make its capital. The main attraction of this province is the birthplace of Buddha, Lumbini.

Karnali Pradesh

Karnali Pradesh is another province covering an area of 24,453 square km. This region is also quite behind in terms of infrastructure development. The cabinet has decided Birendranagar to be headquarter of this province.

Sudurpashchim Province

The proposed name for this province is Khaptad Pradesh, Sudur Paschim Pardesh. As the name indicates, it covers the major part of the far West and is a bit behind in infrastructure development. Dhangadi is the capital of this province, as per cabinet decision. The population is also relatively less in this region.