Nepal government has been providing the prize for the person who has been doing something great for the sake of the country and people of Nepal to motivate them and to honor their works. Well, not all of them get the prizes but those who really deserve and are strongly dedicated to their works get honoured by the nations. Whether you are a writer, player, actor, government employee, social worker or anyone else, if you have been doing something unique that has really helped in the development of the nation, then your work will surely be honoured and respected by the nation. Here is the list of some famous prizes given to such dedicated person in Nepal.

  1. Madan Puraskar (Madan Award)

Madan Puraskar is one of the most acclaimed and prestigious literature awards in Nepal given to those writers who has published an outstanding book in Nepali language. It is provided every year by Madan Puraskar Guthi. This prize was first introduced on September 26, 1955, by the daughter in law of Prime Minister Chandra Shumsher in memory of her husband late General Madan shumsher JBR.  Last year(2072), it was given to Ramlal Joshi for his book ‘’Aina”. Its prize worth is NRs 2 lakh.

  1. Jagadamba Shree Puraskar

Jagadamba Shree Puskar is another prestigious literature award in Nepal after Madan Puraskar. It is also awarded by Madan Puraskar Guthi to honour the best writer of the fiscal calendar year. Last year, it was awarded to Lila Bahadur Chettri who is the writer of famous Nepali Novel Basain. Its prize worth is NRs two lakh. This award is given in the memory of Late queen Jagadamba after her death in 2045 BS. It is awarded every year.

  1. Sajha Puraskar

Sajha Puraskar is another literature award provided by the Sajha publication. It is provided every year since 2026 but in the last decades, the prize couldn’t be distributed yearly due to some internal reason. It has worth of NRs 51000. Bhupi Sherchan was the first person to get this award.

  1. Sarwanam Puraskar

Sarwanam Puraskar is the award provided by the Swarwanam Theatre group. It is provided on the behalf of the contribution in the field of theater. Sarwanam theater group is one of the leading theater group of Nepal. It was established in 2039 B.S. The first person to get this award was Nir Shah. Sarwanam Theatre group has been doing street drama, playback theater, stage program, community development theatrical activities.

  1. Chinnalata Puraskar

Chinnalata Puraskar is one of the famous prizes in the Nepali music industry provided by the Chinnalat Geet Puraskar Guthi. This prize is given in different categories like songwriter, music composer, singer and the talent. It is provided yearly to promote and honour the good works. This award was given since 1982. The first person to get this award was Kiran Kharel. Its current price worth is 10/20 thousand.

  1. Yuwa Barsha Moti Puraskar

There is another famous prize in the category of literature in Nepal. It is Yuwa Barsha Moti Puraksar. It has been provided yearly since its establishment in 2042 B.S. The first person to get this prize was Daivagya Raj Neupane. It has been provided to motivate the good writers for creating extraordinary books that can create a positive message in the society.

  1. Gautam Buddha international Peace prize

Gautam Buddha International Peace prize is one of the prestigious prize provided by the Government of Nepal in honour of the Gautam Buddha. It is provided to any individuals or institutions from around the world that have a made a contribution to exploring and raising the holy words of Buddha to spread peace and nonviolence. This award was first proposed in 1998 by the first Buddhist summit and later on in 2002, it has been established by the government of Nepal. Its price is USD 50 thousand.

  1. Bhanubhakta Puraskar

Bhanubhakta is one of the most respected poets and writer in Nepal since he was the first person to convert Ramayan which was in Sanskrit into Nepali language. He was born in 1871 and died in 1925 B.S. So, in the memory of Bhanubhakta, this award is provided yearly to one of the acclaimed writers for his work. It was first established in 2052 BS. The first person to get this prize was Madhav Prasad Ghimire.

  1. Tulsi Mehar Shrestha Puraskar

Tulsi Mehar Shrestha Puraskar is given in the memory of Late Tulsi Mehar Shrestha who was a social worker. He was born in 1896 and after he read the book of Maharshi Dayanand,” The light of Truth”, he completely changed his life and started doing social works. He was awarded by Nehru Award after his death in 1978. This award was established in 2049 B.S to honour and respect the work of people who have been involved in the social works and to promote the social works in the society. Its price is worth of NRs one lakh.

  1. Nepal Ratna Man Padavi

Nepal Ratna Man Padavi is the highest civilian award in Nepal provided by the government of Nepal. It is provided to the civilian who have done an exemplary contribution to the nation. Earlier it was named as Order of Tri Shakti Patta but after the monarchy was abolished, it was given a new name of Nepal Ratna Man Padavi in 2010. Now, it is given by the decision of Nepal government of the Republic day by President of Nepal. This award has been received by only three people. They are Ganesh Man Singh, Girija Prasad Koirala, and Madan Bhandari.

These were some of the top prizes in Nepal given to the outstanding performer in their respective field. It is really a good tradition to honour and respect the work by providing such awards to motivate and promote their works. It will also surely help to attract the new generation that gives them an internal motive to give their best in their own field. But since these awards are not being awarded yearly, it can demotivate the dedicated person and the upcoming new generations. However, we hope the respective organization and the governmet will surely think about it and act accordingly to honour the great people of the country for their great works.